What's the difference between a forest and a jungle?

Forest describes a dense growth of trees covering a large area of land. A jungle has a tropical climate and many ground plants between trees and is largely impenetrable. Animals such as deer, bears, squirrels call forests home while the jungle houses animals like monkeys, snakes, and crocodiles.