What years was prohibition in effect?

Prohibition began in 1919 with the ratification of the 18th amendment to the U.S. Constitution, and ended in 1933 when that amendment was repealed.

---

The Eighteenth Amendment was ratified on January 16, 1919, and went into effect next year, on January 17, 1920, starting the Prohibition. The Prohibition ended in The United States on December 5, 1933, with the ratification of the Twenty-first Amendment, which repealed the Eighteenth Amendment.