What is the john scopes trial?

The so-called Scopes Monkey Trial, was an American trial in July of 1925, in which a high school teacher, John T. Scopes, was accused of violating Tennessee's Butler Act, which had made it unlawful to teach human evolution. Scopes was found guilty but the verdict was overturned on a technicality.