What is the origin of clogging?

Clogging began in the Appalachian Mountains. As the Appalachians were settled in the mid 1700’s by the Irish, Scottish, English and Dutch-Germans, the folk dances of each area met and combined and was accompanied by fiddle and blue grass music. "Clog" comes from the Gaelic, and means "time".