What's the origins of festivas?

Daniel O'Keefe Sr. originally invented Festivus as a way to have a holiday that was secular and not burdened by the religious and commercialism of the holiday season. The first Festivus occurred in 1966, on the occasion of the first date of Daniel and his soon to be fiancée Deborah.