What's the difference between paint and primer?

Paint provides color, hiding, sheen, scrub resistance and protection against the elements. Primers seal the substrate, help provide uniform coverage, provide adhesion (between the substrate or wall and the paint) and block stains. In other words, a primer prepares the wall you are about to paint.