What does chlorine do to water?

Water from lakes, rivers, underground wells contain microbes some of which can be harmful to human life. Many of the microbes have a hard shell. A small amount of Chlorine, a gas, can be added to water to dissolve that shell and kill the microbe making the water safe to drink.