Who was the first african american millionaire?

Sarah Breedlove, known as Madam C. J. Walker, was an African-American entrepreneur, philanthropist, and a political and social activist who was known to be the first african american millionaire in the early 20th century.

---

Jeremiah G. Hamilton was the first African American millionaire. He was a stock broker in the mid-1800s, his death in 1875, attracted national attention, and scores of newspapers reported that Hamilton was the richest non-white man in the country and that his estate was worth about $2 million