What classic sitcom was based on a new york cartoon?

"My World and Welcome to It" is an American half-hour television sitcom, based on the humor and cartoons of James Thurber. It starred William Windom as John Monroe, a Thurber-like writer and cartoonist who works for a magazine closely resembling The New Yorker called The Manhattanite.