How big is the average dog's brain?

A dog's brain is about the size of a tangerine. That means it doesn't have as many folds as the human brain or the capacity for higher thinking. The human brain-to-body ratio is 1:40. In dogs, it is 1:125 across all breeds, according to a study published in the Intelligence issue of Popular Science.