What is texas a. and m. stand for?

When Texas A and M was opened on Oct. 4, 1876 as the state's first public institution of higher education, it was called the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas, or "A and M" for short. But today the letters no longer explicitly stand for anything.

---

Agricultural and Mechanical. When Texas A&M was opened on Oct. 4, 1876 it was called the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas, or "A&M" for short.