Who is irene of fame?

Irene Cara sang and co-wrote the song 'Flashdance... What a Feeling', for which she won an Academy Award for Best Original Song and a Grammy Award for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance in 1984. She also starred in the TV show, "Fame."