What's a beta blocker do?

Beta blockers work mainly by slowing down the heart. They do this by blocking the action of hormones like adrenaline. Beta blockers usually come as tablets. They are prescription-only medicines, which means they can only be prescribed by a GP or another suitably qualified healthcare professional.