How are capers harvested?

Capers are pickled flower buds. Tiny capers are picked from a shrub-like bush (Capparis spinosa), long before the buds ever flower. The capers are then dried in the sun and later brined or packed in salt. ... Harvesting capers is an arduous process because they can only be picked by hand.