Where does cinnabar come from?

Typically found in rocks that form near volcanic activity or in hot springs, Cinnabar is produced from hot liquids coming from below the Earth's surface. Major cinnabar producers today include Spain, China, Italy, Serbia, Slovenia, and parts of the United States.