How long was the iron war?

The "Iron War" was a race run in 1989 between Dave Scott and Mark Allen. It included a 2.4 mile swim; a 112 mile bicycle race, and a 26.2 mile Marathon foot race, run back-to-back. Allen won, with an overall time of 8 hours, 9 minutes, and 14 seconds.