What's the difference between peanut butter and peanut butter spread?

Peanut butter spread contains about 60 percent peanuts―not the 90 percent required for a product to be labeled peanut "butter." Fewer peanuts means less fat: Butters average 16 grams per two-tablespoon serving; spreads weigh in at 12 grams or less.