How are jawbreakers made?

Jawbreakers are made by slowly depositing layers onto a core (such as a pressed ball of sugar or a gumball) in large, rotating, heated pans. This is called "hot panning". The candies take several weeks to manufacture, as the process of adding liquid sugar is repeated multiple times.