What does vinegar come from?

Where is vinegar found naturally? Vinegar, may be produced from, a variety of materials. apples or grapes produce wine, or cider vinegar. malted barley, or, oats, make malt vinegar. and industrial alcohol, produces distilled white vinegar. There are also vinegars made from beer, sugars, rice, etc...

---

Vinegar is a combination of acetic acid and water made by a two-step fermentation process. First, yeast feed on the sugar or starch of any liquid from a plant food such as fruits, whole grains, potatoes, or rice. This liquid ferments into alcohol.