How much should you spend on an engagement ring?

Rule of thumb: Spend 2 months of your income on an engagement ring. Therefore, if you are making $1000 per month, spend $2000 on an engagement ring. If you're making $2500 per month, spend $5000. Sounds simple, but the 2-month rule of thumb is a BAD idea.