How many beats does an eighth note get?

It depends on the time signature of the music. The eighth note gets half a beat in four four time and other signatures with a lower number of 4. It gets one beat if the lower number is 8, such as in six eight time. And it gets a quarter beat in two two or cut time.

---

In 4 4 time an eighth note gets one half of one beat, or one eighth of the measure