What's the emancipation clock proclamation?

The Emancipation Proclamation changed the federal legal status of more than 3.5 million enslaved African Americans in the designated areas of the South from slave to free. It was a presidential proclamation and executive order issued by Abraham Lincoln on January 1, 1863.