How old does a dog have to be to breed?

Most breeders recommend waiting until a female dog is 18 months old before breeding. Most breeds are fully grown by this time, which limits the chance of complications. Some smaller breeds are okay to breed after one year. On average, male dogs become fertile after 6 months.