How many chopped onions are in a cup?

The number of onions needed to measure 1 cup depends on how coarsely you chop it. If the recipe calls for 1 cup of finely minced onion then it will take about 3 whole medium onions and if a larger chopped size is desired then about 2 whole medium onions.