When was the last time america sent astronauts to space?

The last space shuttle launch took place almost nine years ago on July 8, 2011. The STS-135 was the final mission of the agency's Space Shuttle Program. This was when Atlantis rolled to a stop at the Kennedy Space Center, the independent agency's home port.