What is a meerkat?

The meerkat, or suricate, is a small carnivore, classified in the mongoose family. Meerkats live in the Kalahari Desert in Botswana, in the Namib Desert in Namibia, in southwestern Angola, and in South Africa. Meerkats have been popularized in television shows and fiction books and on animal shows.