How many people broke out of alcatraz?

Of the 36 inmates who staged 14 escape attempts over the 29 years that Alcatraz served as a federal penitentiary, 23 were recaptured, 6 were shot and killed, 2 drowned, and 5 are listed as "missing and presumed dead".