What is a truffle?

A Truffle is a strong-smelling underground fungus that resembles a rough-skinned potato. It is considered a culinary delicacy and found especially in France and Italy with the aid of trained dogs or pigs. It can also refer to a soft candy made of a chocolate mixture, typically flavored with rum.