How did the revolutionary war start?

The U.S. War for Independence developed out of colonists' frustrations that they had no means of influencing the British government's policies on taxation, trade, or the military. Tensions eventually erupted on April 19, 1775 when colonists intercepted British troops at Lexington, Massachusetts.