What kind of metal is a penny made out of?

As of 1982, the US penny is composed of an inner core alloy of 99.2% zinc and 0.8% copper. with an outer plating of pure copper. It has undergone a number of changes to its composition over the years. For 120 years prior it was 95% Copper with either nickle, tin or zinc.