What is similar to oregano?

Marjoram is a good substitute for oregano in recipes. Marjoram may not hold up to long cooking. In other words, it is a good idea to add it towards the end of cooking time. The proportions are also important. Use three parts of marjoram for every two parts of oregano that your recipe requires.