What was the first tree displayed at the white house?

Each year, NCTA hosts a national tree contest, at which growers, industry experts and consumers vote to select the Real Christmas Tree grower who will provide the official White House Christmas Tree. Starting in 1966 the first winner was Howard Pierce from Wisconsin with a Balsam Fir tree.