Is the earths magnetic field decaying?

Earth's magnetic field is fading. Today it is about 10% weaker than it was when German mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss started keeping tabs on it in 1845, scientists say. If the trend continues, the field may collapse altogether and then reverse. Compasses would point south instead of north.