How did cardi b become famous?

Cardi B, gained minor celebrity status in 2015 as a breakout star on VH1's Love & Hip Hop: New York television series. She then gained wider appeal later that same year with several popular music releases including singing alongside Shaggy in his remix single of "Boom Boom".