What is a pick line?

A PICC line (spelled P-I-C-C) stands for peripherally inserted central catheter. Doctors use a PICC line to access a patient's large central veins as a way to semi-permanently give medication or nutrition. By using a PICC line, the doctor doesn't have to keep sticking the small veins in the arm.