How many baseballs does major league baseball go through in a season?

On average, Major League Baseball goes through 900,000 baseballs each season. Any time a ball is thrown in the dirt, dinged by a bat, or scuffed up, it is taken out of the game. And of course, all homerun and foul balls go home with a lucky fan.