Why was f. d. r. president for twelve years?

F.D.R., Franklin Delano Roosevelt, was elected for four terms, before there was any Constitutional provision limiting how many terms a President could serve. The 22nd Amendment, passed in 1947, limited a person to two terms as President. Ratification of that Amendment was completed in 1951.