When did avocados become popular?

Avacados have been growing in popularity ever since the P. R. firm of Hill & Knowlton orchestrated the “Guacamole Bowl" in 1992...recruiting members of both N.F.L. super bowl teams to share their favorite guacamole recipes. The lifting of trade restrictions with Mexico in the 90s contributed too.