Does silver tarnish?

Silver oxides in air. The silver will absorb Sulphur from the surrounding air causing an off-color tarnish. Silver will also absorb oxygen causing the familiar dark tarnish. This is only on the surface. Tarnish can be removed chemically or by polishing. Polishing removes a layer of silver.