What's in wasabi?

True wasabi is a plant like horseradish, but it's rare. Most wasabi you will encounter is made from horseradish and mustard, with other flavoring ingredients.

---

True Wasabi is made from Japanese horseradish, a distinct plant from the same family as mustard and other horseradish. . A paste made from its ground rhizomes is used as a pungent condiment for sushi and other foods.