What caused the two thousand eight recession?

The 2008 recession was caused by banks giving risky home loans to borrowers who couldn't repay them. When home prices plummeted, homeowners couldn't pay off their mortgages by selling their homes, so mortgage defaults skyrocketed, placing a tremendous strain on America's financial system.