What are crabs?

Crabs are crustaceans, in the same class as lobster and shrimp. They are invertebrate arthropods with an exoskeleton made of a fibrous substance called chitin. Other Arthropods in the same phylum as crustaceans, are insects, arachnids, and myriapods.