What was the function of the leaning tower of pisa during world war two?

According to the first-hand account of Leon Weckstein, of the U.S. 91st Infantry Division in WWII, he was sent to see if Nazi soldiers were using it as an observation platform. Although, he later stated that he was "pretty sure they were," he could not see movement on the tower and it was spared.

---

It has been told that German troops used the tower as a lookout during World War II.