Is there a top gun in real life?

Top Gun is the name of a movie. The navy does not refer to it as such. The the US Navy Fighter Weapons School (NFWS) – was formed in late 1968 at NAS Miramar, California, to create a graduate-level course in fighter tactics for Navy pilots deploying to Vietnam.