Are sunflowers annuals or perennials?

Perennials

---

Annuals

---

While most varieties are annual sunflowers, meaning they will not come back the following growing season, they may self-germinate from dropped seeds if you leave the heads on the plants throughout the winter. The perennial Maximillian sunflower features small blooms in late summer and early fall.

---

They are both, depending on the species.