How can you tell if something is a fruit or a vegetable?

A fruit is the seed of a plant and the fleshy part around it. Common fruits include peaches, pears, bananas and tomatoes. All of these contain seeds and a surrounded by flesh of the fruit. Celery, brussels sprouts, spinach etc. have no seeds within and consequently, are not fruit.