What is blanching green beans?

Set out a large bowl of ice water before blanching. In a large stock pot, bring 4 quarts water and 1 tablespoon salt to boil. Add the green beans and boil until tender-crisp, but still bright green, about 3 to 5 minutes. Drain well and immediately plunge into ice water to stop the cooking.