How long does it take dough to rise?

On average it takes about 45 minutes, this is dependent upon the ambient temperature. Yeast needs a warm environment to activate.

---

It usually takes about 45 minutes to one hour: The best way to tell if the dough has risen enough is not by time but by look and feel. It will look soft and bloated. When you touch the dough, it will be soft and your finger will leave an indentation when lightly pressed against the dough.