What is thermo halene?

Definition: Large-scale density-driven circulation in the ocean, caused by differences in temperature and salinity. In the north Atlantic, the thermohaline circulation consists of warm surface water flowing northward and cold deepwater flowing southward, resulting in a net poleward transport of heat