What's the difference between a enzyme and a hormone?

One of the major differences between enzymes and hormones is that enzymes act as a catalyst for a reaction and hormones act as messengers. Almost all known enzymes are proteins. Hormones, on the other hand, can either be made up of proteins, amino acids or even steroids.